top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJames Novak

more power....rohrohroh...

Updated: Jun 17, 2021

Picked up a 2001 Mercury 30hp 4 stroke EFI short shaft engine. I only got a few second video of the engine being started, so I'm gambling a little bit with this one. I did buy it from a marina, so I expect it to be ok. I am told that the engine has been upgraded to a 40hp from a 30hp by changing the restricter plate, but who knows whether this is true or not. Either way I will be taking it in to get serviced over the winter.


It needs a new prop + control box as well as a cowl restoration. Once this bad boy gets bolted on to the boat it'll make it run fast.




Here's the 20 second video of it starting right up and no leaks from the gaskets...



Getting this thing home in my SUV was a challenge - she fit, but was not fun getting it in or out of my car.




First project has been to fix up the cowl since the weather was still nice. Remove all the stickers with some goo gone, a heat gun and an edge scraper. I ordered all Mercury spray paints from Moeller to match the factory colours. Grey primer + mercury black paint + clear coat. I also used some of the total boat fairing compound to fix all the dings and scratches, so it did require some elbow grease and hand sanding.





After one more coat of the black spray paint - now it's time to get the clear coat on, and then the stickers. (pics to follow)


Update Feb 2020 - With all the snow, not much happening these days with the boat, but was able to finish the cowl. Really happy with this finished product:





The prop was hurt pretty bad, so removed that and got a new one to put on. 10.5 x 13 pitch. Got an after market aluminum prop for only $100 online


Also picked up a new control box since the mercury didn't come with one: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00YMGNT6A/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1





The boat is now at the marina getting the engine mounted - I didn't want to fool around trying to get it on without a hoist in my garage. I also needed the engine serviced, so figured I get them to do both. Just as it's about to be ready I get an email saying the steering rod is hitting the transom cutout...grrr. Sovled with a transom standoff bracket, which doesn't look as good as I want it to, but it's the only real solution. On top of that, needed to clean out the carbs, and it's water ready!






Final product on the boat - looks fantastic...



Here's a quick video with the muffs on - sounds great...




117 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page