top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJames Novak

Trailer things

Updated: May 3, 2021

This trailer definitely needed some TLC, it rolled fine and I think had the bearings greased recently, but the bunks and rollers all needed replacing. This also turned out to be the the part of the project which I injured myself. It was only a matter of time, and quite frankly I was surprised it took this long. Warning if you get queasy I provided an injuring picture of stapling my thumb.


I removed the old bunks - there were 4 of them, and replaced with 2 full length bunks with new marine carpet. I also added a keel roller to trailer to ensure we didn't have any bottom scratches when loading / unloading at the ramp.


I do plan on replacing the winch with a new strap one vs the rusted out wire one that's on there now. That thing just looks like its going to snap off and rip my face apart.


Items purchased included new marine carpet for the new 2x6 bunks as well as some new hardware:


The thumb was ripped apart when I was using the hammer staple for the carpet on the new bunks. Guess I got a little too close and wham....hurt like a mother effer, and took about 3 weeks to heal.


In the spring, I'll probably paint the trailer and change out the winch. It'll be looking spic and span then.



Spring arrives and able to get a few final items done on the trailer. New tires and rims, as well as a new winch. Will likely need to adjust the bunks once I get the boat back on the trailer so that it sits properly, but for now it will work.




And as you can see, some wiring still happening with the bow light, but after 8 long winter months the boat finds the trailer again. Soon the water...





58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page