top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJames Novak

Day 1 - This seems like a good idea during COVID

Updated: Dec 13, 2020


I guess the lockdown had been getting to me, it's been 5 months and I was done doing puzzles. Found this beauty 1970 Boston Whaler 13 Sport on Kijiji. Apparently it was in storage for over 10 years out in St. Catherines Ontario, and the guy storing it had unpaid bills to catch up on from the owner. After a quick once over and some haggling, bought the boat, the trailer and the motor for $2000. After selling the motor for $350, I'm into the boat for $1650 on day 1.


The serial number is 2A3359, which I've referenced and confirmed the boat to be a 1970. http://continuouswave.com/whaler/reference/FAQ/#Q1


You can see from the pics the engine was a 50hp mercury with a home made aluminum bracket to raise the long shaft engine. It was homemade engineering at its best and the engine was huge.


The plan is to pull the engine off, sell it and get a short shaft 30 hp which the boat is rated for. Once I do that, then I plan on repairing all the fibreglass damage / cracks / crazing, new primer and paint, new interior, electronics and mechanics.


I did register the boat with Canadian Govt. and got new ON numbers. I also registered the homemade trailer with Transportation Ontario and got a new license plate.


Hope you enjoy reading through my learning adventure here. While on lockdown, this project has basically been lego building for adults - a lot of fun (and sanding) so far.







85 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page